Tel: +41 21 313 4350

Team Europe selected for Great Edinburgh XCountry 2018

  • Home
  • News
  • Team Europe selected for Great Edinburgh XCountry 2018

Following the Samorin 2017 SPAR European Cross Country Championships on Sunday, the following athletes have accepted selection to represent Team Europe at the Great Edinburgh XCountry on Saturday 13 January. (UPDATED 10 January.)

Among those selected are Turkey's 2017 European cross country senior champions Kaan Kigen Ozbilen and Yasemin Can.

The European Athletics Cross Country Permit Meeting will see Europe battle with Great Britain and the USA in four races; the men’s U20 6km, women’s U20 4km, senior men’s 8km and senior women’s 6km.

Can beat the best that the rest of the world could offer when winning the senior women's race in Edinburgh in January this year while McCormack is a former winner in Edinburgh, winning in 2012 and 2013.

The overall winning team will be determined by the best aggregate finishing positions of the six best placed athletes in the senior category, as well as the four best placed athletes in the junior races.

The Great Edinburgh XCountry will also have a International Mixed Relay event, following on from the success of the inaugural mixed relay at the SPAR European Cross Country Championships on Saturday. Teams of four (two men and two women) compete in a 4x1km relay with European bronze medallists Spain representing Europe and doing battle again with gold medallists Great Britain, just as they did in Samorin.

Team Europe was selected from athletes that took part in the SPAR European Cross Country Championships 2017, with three U23 athletes picked to run in the senior team. Athletes from Great Britain were not considered for the selection as they are the host nation of the Great Edinburgh XCountry.

The event, which takes place in Edinburgh’s Holyrood Park, is free to spectate and televised live on BBC One from 13:15 – 15:15 GMT.

Senior men
Soufiane Bouchikhi (BEL)
Hassan Chahdi (FRA)
Hugo Hay (FRA)
Aras Kaya (TUR)
Daniel Mateo (ESP)
Adel Mechaal (ESP)
Kaan Kigen Ozbilan (TUR)
Emmanuel Rudolff Lévisse (FRA)

Senior women
Roxana Barca (ROU)
Ancuta Bobocel (ROU)
Elena Burkard (GER)
Yasemin Can (TUR)
Nuria Lugueros (ESP)
Fionnuala MCormack (IRL).
Sara Catarina Ribeiro (POR)
Cristina Simion (ROU)

U20 men
Luca Alfieri (ITA)
Adrian Garcea (ROU)
Mario Garcia (ESP)
Simen Halle Haugen (NOR)
Annasse Mahboub (ESP) .
Ouassim Oumaiz (ESP)

U20 women
Nadia Battocletti (ITA)
Stephanie Cotter (IRL)
Carla Gallardo (ESP)
Jasmijn Lau (NED)
Mariana Machado (POR)
Cristina Ruiz (ESP)

Mixed relay (all ESP)
Jesus Gomez
Esther Guerrero
Solange Pereira
Victor Ruiz