Tel: +41 (21) 313 4350
    Events & Meetings

    Spanovic, Lewandowski lead voting for European Athletics Athletes Committee

    • Home
    • News
    • Spanovic, Lewandowski lead voting for European Athletics Athletes Committee

    Six athletes representing six countries were elected by their peers to the European Athletics Athletes Committee during the Berlin 2018 European Athletics Championships this week.

    Each of the 1571 accredited athletes had the opportunity to vote for three female and three male candidates at polling stations located in the official team hotels from 7 -11 August. In total, 36 per cent of participating athletes took part in the vote.

    Joining the 2018-2022 Committee are long jumper Ivana Spanovic (SRB), who received 316 votes, followed by sprinter Ivet Lalova-Collio (BUL), and middle-distance runner Hannah England (GBR). On the men’s side, middle-distance runner Marcin Lewandowski (POL) received the most votes (451), followed by multi-disciplinarian Janis Leitis (LAT), and sprinter Angel David Rodriguez Garcia (ESP).

    The European Athletics Athletes Committee is composed of eight members (four women and four men), of which six (three women and three men) are elected at the European Athletics Championships and two (one woman and one man) are appointed by the European Athletics President.

    The main task of the Committee is to address and discuss all matters of concern to elite athletes in Europe, with one member also appointed to represent the Committee in the Event & Competition Commission. The Athletes Committee is, therefore, the voice of and for all elite athletes in Europe.

    The Athletes Commission Chair, to be voted in by the Commission Members, will take their place on the European Athletics Council.