Tel: (41 21) 313 43 50

European athletics stars win more awards

  • Home
  • News
  • European athletics stars win more awards

Following their terrific performances at the IAAF World Championships in Moscow, long-distance runner Mo Farah and pole-vaulter Yelena Isinbayeva are the winners of the 2013 edition of the European Sportsman and Sportswoman of the Year Awards.

It was the 31st annual poll conducted by the International Sports Press Association (AIPS) – Europe, with some of Europe’s most specialised writers taking part in the vote.

Farah, the first British male to win the prize since Jonathan Edwards in 1995, gained a total of 58 votes ahead of tennis star Rafael Nadal with 49 votes, Formula 1 champion Sebastian Vettel with 44 votes and France football player Frank Ribéry with 42.

He was recognised for repeating his London 2012 double gold in the 5000m and 10,000 in Moscow, becoming the first European athlete to achieve this.

This year he will attempt to continue his recent success at the European Athletics Championships in Zurich 12-17 August. He is also looking to extend his range and take part in the London Marathon at the end of the year.

On the women’s side, Isinbayeva won the award for the third time in her career after 2005 and 2008. She won gold in front of her home crowd in Moscow in her first major outdoor victory since 2008.

She obtained 56 votes ahead of Slovenian skier Tina Maze with 49 votes followed by Russian swimmer Julia Efimova with 41 votes.

Although it is still uncertain whether Isinbayeva will continue competing, her win in Moscow cements an already remarkable career.

Her goal is to have a child and return in time for the 2016 Olympics Games in Rio de Janeiro.